Freestyle wing Octane 2 - which size to buy 22m or 25m

Hi guys
I have about 200hrs of flying on my Gin Atlas size M wing.

I am interested in doing some acro stuff. I recently done my SIV course where I learned SAT and practised to nail my wingovers. So as you can see I am a beginner in acro.

I really enjoy and therefore would like to buy a more designated wing for acro manouveres. I've heard that it is better to go first for a freestyle wing then later for acro wing. So my choice is a freestyle wing Ozone Octane 2.

Now my questions is which size I should go for? 22m (weight range: 55-90kg) or 25m (weight range: 65-105kg)

My all up weight would be:
wing Octane 2 : 5,5kg
harness Supair Acro 3: 6,5
2 reserves (round & rogallo) : 4,5kg
helmet + boots: 1kg
myself: 78-80kg

TOTAL WEIGHT: 98kg

Are there any people that fly this wing and can advise me on this? what size is your wing? whats your total weight?. Are you happy with it?

Some people suggest that I should go for 22m (55-90kg) even though I am 10kg over the weight limit as this would be better loaded for more dynamic manoeuvres (but do I want to be very dynamic being acro beginner?)

Some say that I should stay in the weight range 65-105kg which would be the 25m wing and I am 98kg which sounds perfect. I am just 7kg below the maximum weight range of 105kg.

Therefore it logically suggests that 25m wing would be more suitable for me as I am in range here. Do you agree?
What do you guys think?

Latest Comments

leo yeung's picture

hi Yarich :
Can you tell me which is the school that you learn Acro? thX!

Martini's picture

Very inspirational Yaroslav! I admire your determination to learn Infinity!